miquel àngel múrcia i cambra



Composition Teacher by the faculty of an Advanced Conservatory of Music. His background includes a Degree in Contemporary History and a PhD about Biography and Music. He is nowadays known as a "great exponent of the electroacoustic in Valencia" like as Sound Artist thanks to his enormous electroacoustic music, audiovisual, chamber music and ensemble premieres in recent years in several European countries. His music is published in printed scores and included in numerous compilations of contemporary Spanish music.

He has received commissions from many countries and, among his many works premiered the most outstanding are the ones for the "Magritte Museum" in Belgium during the period 2009-2010.  He has also premiered at many leading festivals, such as the SIMA FountCourt (France, Dijon) in 2011 and at the "Talent Festival" part of the prestigious Berlinale (Berlin). He has actively taken part in the 17th, 18th and 19th (2010-2012) "Meeting Point International Festivals" and his music has been included for the regular programme of Phonos Barcelona, Carnegie Ensembe Contemporany (USA 2012) and Interensemble 3.0 (ITALY, 2015).

Moreover, Miquel Àngel Múrcia i Cambra is working to reissue a critical study of the romantic musical composer Josep Melcior Gomis. He is part of the Spanish Association of Electronic Music.

(Text: Nieves de la Flor© | Photo: T.Ciges ©)


"Miquel Angel Múrcia shows and interesting command of the compositional techniques which allows him to create unusual textures by blending some traditional sounds with contemporary ones, in a solid unified style."

Leonardo Balada | American Composer

"Harmagedon draws extensively on extended techniques and expressive rubato; combining explosive otherworldly sounds with the expression of human lament"


Carnegie Mellon

"The study of Múrcia, a great musical and historical authority, can not be ignored"


Sonograma Review

Harmagedon - Carnegie Contemporary Ensemble | Hajin Sa | Miquel À. Múrcia
00:00 / 00:00
Land of Banishment | Solo Flute - Pilar Balsalobre | Miquel À. Múrcia i Cambra
00:00 / 00:00
Stringquartet Two "Howl" - Ensemble Col legno | Miquel À. Múrcia i Cambra
00:00 / 00:00
Stringquartet One "Quadern de Recerca" - Miquel Àngel Mürcia i Cambra
00:00 / 00:00

"Miquel Angel Múrcia makes his music very personal, attractive as well as communicative"

Leonardo Balada | American Composer

"Múrcia, who has an impeccable musical career, has worked on the re-edition and critical study of the musical work of the romantic composer Josep Melcior Gomis (1791-1836)"

Sonograma | Musical Magazine